The Goals
of The Initiative


Offer tailored capacity-development activities led by industry experts through online courses, hands-on workshops, and webinars.


Make each ccTLD an asset for the development of meaningful connectivity in their respective country.


Help ccTLD registries establish a sustainable environment for the development of the Internet country code.


Assist governments, regulators, and selected ccTLD registries in the development of partnerships, growth strategies, and network registrars.

Course Topics Include

Governance of the Registry, Best Practices

Legal Framework, Best Practices

General Technical Know-How

DNS Security

Internationalized Domain Names and Universal Acceptance

Business Plan Writing and Marketing

Building a Network of Registrars

What Will This Initiative Achieve?

Providing training related to the Domain Name System (DNS) and the technical functioning of the Internet will result in higher DNS security and greater Internet security for the region. Training and workshops will be provided to ten African ccTLD registries to enable them to operate more effectively in the domain industry and participate in the multistakeholder system of Internet governance regionally, nationally, and globally.

ccTLDs are regarded as part of the Internet identities of their respective countries or geopolitical territories. They are an integral part of national digital strategies and support the development of e-government initiatives. Moreover, ccTLDshave acquired an increasing role in the domain names market in contributing to the growth of national digital economies.

By providing ccTLD managers with the skills necessary for the development of their respective ccTLDs, they will be able to take full advantage of what their industries have to offer and participate in the multistakeholder system of Internet governance. ccTLD registries will become strong assets in the development of their respective national digital economies and e-government services.


Pilot Project

The ccTLD registries in Niger, Togo, Benin, Republic of Congo, Comoros, Madagascar, Angola, Burundi, Zimbabwe, and Gambia will participate in the pilot project. The project was announced as part of a commitment to digital transformation in hard-to-reach areas across Africa. This announcement was made with the Partner2Connect Digital Coalition initiated by the International Telecommunication Union, at the World Telecommunication Development Conference in Kigali, Rwanda.